New Bedford public beach parking passes available Monday, May 1, 2017

New Bedford, Massachusetts– Seasonal parking passes for the City of New Bedford’s public beaches will become available on Monday, May 1, 2017. The beach parking program covers East Beach, West Beach and Fort Taber Park, and requires residents and non-residents to acquire a seasonal parking pass or pay a daily rate for parking. This summer’s beach season is June 24, 2017 through September 4, 2017.

Seasonal parking passes are available beginning May 1 at the Parks, Recreation and Beaches office at 181 Hillman Street, Building 3; at the City Clerk’s office, Room 118 in City Hall at 133 William Street; and at the Traffic Commission at the Elm Street Garage at 51 Elm Street.

Seasonal parking passes are $5 for city residents. Greater New Bedford residents in contiguous communities (Freetown, Acushnet, Fairhaven, and Dartmouth) can purchase a seasonal pass for $20. The cost for other non-residents is $50. Vehicle registration must be presented in order to obtain a resident seasonal parking pass.

Day passes can be obtained beginning June 24, 2017 at Fort Taber or East Beach. Day passes are $5 for New Bedford residents at Fort Taber, and $10 for non-residents at Fort Taber. East Beach offers a $10 parking pass for the day at the new parking kiosk, located in the central East Beach parking lot next to the current parking attendant booth. West Beach offers parking for seasonal passes only. Parking hours for all three venues are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

About New Bedford’s public beaches

New Bedford is blessed with clean, safe, and family-friendly beaches. East Beach has a new automated parking kiosk, streamlining the process to purchase a daily pass. West Beach is a swimmer’s paradise, with a fully accessible pavilion providing shade, cool breezes, beautiful sunsets and a fully accessible bath house. Fort Taber boasts sweeping views of New Bedford Harbor and Buzzards Bay in historic, Fort Taber Park. City beaches are guarded by a professional waterfront team from June 24, 2017 through September 4, 2017.


[multisite_search_form type="horizontal" page="" search_on_pages="1"]