Please note new COVID 19 Procedures – New Bedford Conservation Commission:
Due to the COVID- 19 outbreak, Governor Baker issued an Executive Order prohibiting gatherings of 10 or more people effective March 24, 2020. Further, Mayor Mitchell closed City Hall to public access, effective March 17, 2020. This effectively means that boards and commissions may not meet in person with the public during the time that these state and city orders are in effect. However, pursuant to a March 12 executive order issued by Governor Baker that relaxed the requirements of the Open Meeting Law, boards and commissions may meet entirely remotely.
To avoid further disruptions in schedule, all upcoming meetings of the Conservation Commission will be held remotely via Zoom meetings until the restrictions are lifted. Application materials will continue to be accessible via the website. For access to remote meetings, please see upcoming agendas as posted.

Environmental Stewardship

Created in 2003, the Office of Environmental Stewardship supports the City’s efforts regarding compliance with environmental laws and regulations, and administers the Wetlands Protection Act and wetlands regulations.

Department Staff Conservation Commission
Michele Paul, Director Dennis Audette, Chairman
Chancery Perks,  Conservation Agent Peter Blanchard, Vice Chairman
Sandy Douglas, Administrative Coordinator  Paul Pacheco
Bruce Hebbel, Environmental Project Manager