In fulfilling the Library’s mission to provide free equal access to technology to enrich the life of the community and to build an engaged and connected community, the New Bedford Library lends mobile wireless hotspots to patrons.
The Hotspot Program is made possible through the support of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners’ goal to Advance Equitable Access to Resources by promoting “excellent connectivity and technology infrastructure, training, and support frameworks to equitably meet the needs of library users in Massachusetts” and the Institute of Museum and Library Services’ American Rescue Plan Act Objective 1.1 to advance digital inclusion.
Any resident from a municipality certified in the state Aid to Public Libraries program by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners is eligible to borrow a hotspot. Patron registration in the library system is required.
- Hotspot borrowers must be 18 years old and in good standing with the Library.
- Only one hotspot is allowed per household. Each hotspot will support up to 10 connected devices.
- Library’s registration policy/procedures. Library Card Online Registration
- Hotspots may be borrowed for two weeks and renewals are not permitted.
- Hotspots must be returned to the library branch it was borrowed from and may not be checked out again for at least a 24-hour period.
- Hotspot borrowers will be fined $.25 per day, up to $5.00 with a 3-day grace period.
Loss or Damage
Loss of a Hotspot will incur a $35 lost fee.
Borrowers will adhere to the library’s Internet acceptable use policy when using the mobile hotspot.
While checked out, the hotspot remains the responsibility of the borrower. Borrowers should not lose control of the device by lending to friends or associates.
Any attempt to alter the configuration of the hotspot is strictly prohibited and may result in loss of borrowing privileges.
Hotspots are available on a first-come, first-service basis and may not be reserved ahead of time. Call your local New Bedford Library Branch during normal business hours. Contact Information to inquire about availability.
Hotspots are filtered by default using T-Mobile’s content filtering for education. Borrowers may request that hotspot filtering be disabled when borrowing a device. The library will not ask for a stated reason.
Link to: T-Mobile Web Content Filtering
Hotspots should be returned with the power cord, SIM card, battery and case to the library branch in the same good working condition as it was when it was checked out.
If the hotspot is not returned within  days after the due date, service will be turned off and the hotspot will become unusable. The due date can be found on the receipt given at checkout or by calling your local library branch.
If the hotspot is damage or not working, return it to the library branch. Report the nature of the damage to a staff person.
Problems? Direct borrower technical support is provided by T-Mobile to library hotspot borrowers at: (844) 341-4834.
A revocation of hotspot borrowing privileges may be appealed by request to the Library Director.
The Library is not responsible for any files, data or personal information accessed/transmitted using the hotspot.
The Library will have no liability for direct, indirect or consequential damages related to the use of the mobile hotspots, including loss of data or privacy invasions. Those who use the hotspots do so at their own risk and assume full liability for their actions.
Hotspot users are accessing the internet through the T-Mobile network, not the Library’s network.
Illegal acts involving Library equipment or services may also be subject to prosecution.
Adopted by the Board of Trustees
September 28, 2021