Guidelines for Public Records Requests

The City of New Bedford has developed these guidelines to help members of the public who are seeking access to public records in the custody of the City of New Bedford to make informed requests for public records as well as to assist the Records Access Officers (RAOs) in fulfilling those requests.

Requests for public records may be made orally or in writing. Written requests can be made by hand, mail, email or fax.  Telephone requests may be accepted at the discretion of the Records Access Officer.

Requests for records should be directed to the appropriate Records Access Officer who serves as the custodian of the requested records. The City of New Bedford has designated Records Access Officers in each city department (listed below) who are responsible for coordinating their departments’ responses to public records requests. If you would like to make a public records request, please contact the Records Access Officer in the city department from which you would like to request public records. If you are not sure which department has the public records you are seeking, please contact:

Lisa A. Presby, Program Director
City of New Bedford
City Solicitor’s Office
133 William Street, Room 203
New Bedford, MA 02740
Tel: (508) 979-1460
Fax: (508) 979-1515
Email: LisaP@newbedford-ma.gov

Dennis Farias, City Clerk
City of New Bedford

City Clerk’s Office

133 William Street, Room 118
New Bedford, MA 02740

Tel: (508) 979-1450

Fax: (508) 991-6225)

Email: Dennis.Farias@newbedford-ma.gov

Once your request has been received by the RAO, he or she must provide a response to your request within 10 business days. (business days are Monday through Friday and do not include Saturdays, Sundays or legal holidays)

A RAO’s response may include:
• Producing the requested record(s);
• Outlining what will be withheld or redacted because a specific statutory exemption may apply to the requested records permitting or requiring the records to be withheld in whole or in part;
• Identifying records being produced or intended to be produced and (if applicable) a detailed explanation of the reason(s) for the inability to provide the information within the allotted timeframe. The RAO has a total of 25 Business Days to provide a full response to your request unless: The RAO appeals to the Supervisor of Records (Secretary of State) for good cause, or you the requestor, grant additional time to comply in writing.
• Asking for further clarification or suggesting a modification to your request if it can reduce time and cost;
• If fees are going to be charged, providing an itemized good-faith estimate.

Consider how you may narrow the scope of your request to expedite the production process. The first two hours of work performed to respond to a public records request will be performed at no cost. After that, the city may charge up to $25.00 per hour. The city may charge up to $0.05 for black and white paper copies and may charge the actual cost of electronic storage devices (i.e. dvds or memory sticks).

For additional information about making a request or filing an appeal, see Chapter 66 of Massachusetts General Laws and 950 CMR 32 and MA Public Records Law Guidelines.

Below is a list of categories of public records maintained by the city of New Bedford. Please note this list is not exhaustive. These records may be subject to redaction if they contain information that may not be disclosed by law, is exempt under the public records law or is subject to other legally applicable privileges. Where certain categories of records are maintained by a particular department, the appropriate department is indicated below in parenthesis.

Categories of public records generally maintained by the city:

Annual Budgets (Contact: CFO’s Office)
Audio/Video Recordings
Bid documents and procurement contracts (Contact: Purchasing)
Collective bargaining agreements (Contact: Solicitor’s Office)
Documents or correspondence obtained by or generated by a public body or public employee
E-mails
Employee information (name, title, salary) (Contact: Personnel Office)
Grants
Job postings and job descriptions (Contact: Personnel Office)
Memoranda of Understanding (MOUs) (Contact: Solicitor’s Office)
Minutes of Open Meetings and Hearings
Notices of Open Meetings and Hearings
Permits (Contact: Inspectional Services for building permits; Fire Department for fire related permits; and Health Department for health related permits, etc.)
Public policies/procedures/regulations
Reports

Department Name                    Title

Business Address                                                          

Telephone         Fax                     Email
Airport Scot Servis Director Aviation

1569 Airport Rd.

New Bedford, MA 02746

(508) 991-6160 (508) 979-1753 Scot.Servis@newbedford-ma.gov
Joan Jones Office Assistant III

1569 Airport Rd.

New Bedford, MA 02746

(508) 991-6161 (508) 979-1735 Joan.Jones@newbedford-ma.gov
Assessors Judy M. Serdahl Data Lister/Appraiser

133 William St., Room 109

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1440 (508) 979-1643 Judy.Serdahl@newbedford-ma.gov
Ivone B. Rosa Office Assistant III

133 William St., Room 109

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1440 (508) 979-1643 Ivone.Rosa@newbedford-ma.gov
Auditors Brennan Morsette Assistant City Auditor

133 William St., Room 217

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1530 (508) 979-1535 BrennanM@newbedford-ma.gov
Geraldine Calheta Financial Analyst

133 William St., Room 217

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1530 (508) 979-1535 Gerldine.Calheta@newbedford-ma.gov
Cable Access Nanette Spoor Financial Assistant I

918 South Rodney French Blvd.

New Bedford, MA 02744

(508) 961-3024 (508) 979-1764 nanettes@newbedford-ma.gov
Daniel Cabral Program Director

918 South Rodney French Blvd.

New Bedford, MA 02744

(508) 979-1747 (508) 979-1764 daniel.cabral@newbedford-ma.gov
Chief Financial Officer Christina Cotsoridis Management and Performance Analyst

133 William Street, Room 302

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1441 (508) 961-3146 Christina.Cotsoridis@newbedford-ma.gov
Ari Sky Chief Financial Officer

133 William Street, Room 302

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1441 (508) 961-3146 Ari.Sky@newbedford-ma.gov
City Clerk Dennis Farias City Clerk

133 William Street, Room 118

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1450 (508) 991-6225 Dennis.Farias@newbedford-ma.gov
Stephanie Macomber Assistant City Clerk

133 William Street, Room 118

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1450 (508) 991-6225 Stephanie.Macomber@newbedford-ma.gov
City Council Dennis Farias City Clerk

133 William Street, Room 118

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1450 (508) 991-6225 Dennis.Farias@newbedford-ma.gov
Susan Henriques Assistant City Council Clerk

133 William Street, Room 215

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1455 (508) 979-1451 susan.henriques@newbedford-ma.gov
Clerk of Committees Dennis Farias City Clerk

133 William Street, Room 118

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1450 (508) 991-6225 Dennis.Farias@newbedford-ma.gov
Donna Britto Assistant Clerk of Committees

133 William Street, Room 213

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1482 (508) 979-1407 donna.britto@newbedford-ma.gov
Community Services Marcelina Pina-Christian Human Services Coordinator

133 William Street, Room 113

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1464 (508) 991-6262 Marcelina.pina-christian@newbedford-ma.gov
Pamela Amaral-Lema Administrative Specialist, Council on Aging

181 Hillman Street, Building #9

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6250 (508) 979-1514 Pamela.Amaral-Lema@newbedford-ma.gov
Department of Facilities & Fleet Management (DFFM) Jennifer Viera Finance & Operations Manager

294 Liberty Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1520 (508) 979-1521 Jviera@newbedford-ma.gov
Sonia Arruda-Margrath Administrative Manager

294 Liberty Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1520 (508) 979-1521 Sonia.Arruda@newbedford-ma.gov
Department of Public Infrastructure (DPI) Erica Trahan Office Assistant III

1105 Shawmut Avenue

New Bedford, MA 02746

(508) 979-1550 Ext. 67352 (508) 961-3054 Erica.Trahan@newbedford-ma.gov
Ana S. Rosa Civil Engineer

1105 Shawmut Avenue

New Bedford, MA 02746

(508) 979-1550 Ext. 67327 (508) 961-3054 Ana.Rosa@newbedford-ma.gov
Elections Debbie Gonzaga-Reed Office Assistant III

133 William Street, Room 114

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1420 (508) 979-1422 Debbie.Gonzaga@newbedford-ma.gov
Sherrie Silva-Santos Office Assistant III

133 William Street, Room 114

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1420 (508) 979-1422 Sherrie.Silva@newbedford-ma.gov
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Lynda Cavanaugh Financial Assistant I

181 Hillman Street, Building #4

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6390 (508) 991-6238 Lynda.Cavanaugh@newbedford-ma.gov
Michael Thomas Deputy Director

181 Hillman Street, Building #4

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6390 (508) 991-6238 Michael.Thomas@newbedford-ma.gov
Environmental Stewardship Sandy Douglas Administrative Coordinator

133 William Street, Room 304

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6188 (508) 961-3045 Sandy.Douglas@newbedford-ma.gov
Michele S.W. Paul Director of Environmental Stewardship

133 William Street, Room 304

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6188 (508) 961-3045 michele.paul@newbedford-ma.gov
Fire Carla Mourao Administrative Manager

868 Pleasant Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6126 (508) 979-1697 carla.mourao@newbedford-ma.gov
Amy M. Poitras Administrative Coordinator

868 Pleasant Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6124 (508) 979-1697 amy.poitras@newbedford-ma.gov
Harbor Development Commission (HDC) Pamela F. Lafreniere General Counsel

52 Fishermen’s Wharf

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-5911 (508) 993-3117 Pamela.Lafreniere@newbedford-ma.gov
George F. Krikorian Director of Finance

52 Fishermen’s Wharf

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 961-3000 (508) 984-2640 Donna.Roderiques@newbedford-ma.gov
Health Rosemary Tavares Office Assistant I

1213 Purchase Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6199 (508) 991-6292 Rosemary.Tavares@newbedford-ma.gov
Nora Quintal Office Assistant I

1213 Purchase Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6199 (508) 991-6292 Nora.Quintal@newbedford-ma.gov
Inspectional Services Dean Kalavritinos Administrative Manager

133 William Street, Room 308

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1540 Ext 67226 No Fax Dean.Kalavritinos@newbedford-ma.gov
Jennifer Grime Administrative Coordinator

133 William Street, Room 308

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1540 Ext 67212 No Fax JGRIME@newbedford-ma.gov
James Berube Local Inspector

133 William Street, Room 308

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1540 Ext 67219 No Fax james.berube@newbedford-ma.gov
Library Amy Ferguson Reference Librarian

613 Pleasant Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6278 (508) 991-6368 aferguson@sailsinc.org
Dale Easton Head of Information Services

613 Pleasant Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 961-3067 (508) 991-6368 deaston@sailsinc.org
Licensing Board Nicholas Nanopoulos Director

133 William Street, Room 206

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1457 (508) 979-1546 Nicholas.Nanopoulos@newbedford-ma.gov
Honorina White Office Assistant II

133 William Street, Room 206

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1457 (508) 979-1546 Honorina.White@newbedford-ma.gov
Management Information Systems (MIS) Maria Pina-Rocha Director

133 William Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6245 (508) 979-1685 MariaP@newbedford-ma.gov
John Costa Assistant Director

133 William Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6245 (508) 979-1685 John.Costa@newbedford-ma.gov
Mayor’s Office Jonathan Carvalho Public Information Officer

133 William Street, Room 311

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1410 (508) 991-6189 jcarvalho@newbedford-ma.gov
Christina Connelly Assistant Chief of Staff

133 William Street, Room 311

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1410 (508) 991-6189 Christina.connelly@newbedford-ma.gov
Parks, Recreation & Beaches Bernadette Barreira Financial Assistant I

181 Hillman Street, Building #3

New Bedford, MA 02740

 (508) 961-3015  (508) 991-6175 Bernadette.Barreira@newbedford-ma.gov
Mary S. Rapoza Director

181 Hillman Street, Building #3

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 961-3015 (508) 991-6175 Mary.Rapoza@newbedford-ma.gov
Personnel Leslie Trahan Human Resources Generalist 133 William Street, Room 212

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1444 (508) 979-1619 Leslie.Trahan@newbedford-ma.gov
Melissa Sears Human Resources Generalist

133 William Street, Room 212

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1444 (508) 979-1619 Melissa.Sears@newbedford-ma.gov
Housing & Community Development Nicole Torres Curral Administrative Manager

608 Pleasant Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1500 (508) 979-1575 Nicole.Curral@newbedford-ma.gov
Emerick Bravo Financial Assistant II

608 Pleasant Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1500 508) 979-1575  Emerick.Bravo@newbedford-ma.gov
City Planning Kirsten Bryan Deputy Director

133 William Street, Room 303

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1488 (508) 979-1576 Kirsten.Bryan@newbedford-ma.gov
Angela Goncalves Assistant Project Manager

133 William Street, Room 303

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1488 (508) 979-1576 Angela.Goncalves@newbedford-ma.gov
Police Officer Michael Boswell Keeper of the Records

871 Rockdale Avenue

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6300 Ext. 79406 (508) 979-1566 Michael.boswell@newbedfordpd.com
Ricard Rezendes Captain

871 Rockdale Avenue

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1687 Ext. 79561 (508) 961-3056 Ricard.Rezendes@newbedfordpd.com
Purchasing Ping Fun Choi Administrative Coordinator

133 William Street, Room 201

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1433 (508) 979-1515 Ping.FunChoi@newbedford-ma.gov
Rebecca Kanter Assistant Procurement Officer/Buyer

133 William Street, Room 208

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1433 (508) 991-6148 Rebecca.Kanter@newbedford-ma.gov
Retirement Eric Cohen Executive Director

651 Orchard Street, #203A

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1538 (508) 979-1799 Ecohen@newbedfordretirement.org
Sandra M. Cardoso Manager of Retirement and Administration

651 Orchard Street, #203A

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1538 (508) 979-1799 scardoso@newbedfordretirement.org
School Heather Emsley Director of Human Capital Services

455 County Street, Room 101

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 997-4511 Ext. 3264 (508) 984-0713 hemsley@newbedfordschools.org
Arthur Motta Community and Public Affairs Services

455 County Street, Room 101

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 997-4511 Ext. 14553 (508) 997-0298 amotta@newbedford-ma.gov
Solicitor’s Office Lisa A. Presby Program Director

133 William Street, Room 201

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1460 (508) 979-1515 LisaP@newbedford-ma.gov
Mikaela A. McDermott City Solicitor

133 William Street, Room 201

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1460 (508) 979-1515 MMcDermott@newbedford-ma.gov
Tourism and Marketing Brooke Vinagre  Acting Director

133 William Street, Room 119

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1745 (508) 991-6200 dagny.ashley@newbedford-ma.gov
Traffic Commission Krystin Abreu Financial Assistant II

51 Elm Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 961-3153 (508) 979-1716 Krystin.Abreu@newbedford-ma.gov
Laurie A. Alfonso Acting Director

51 Elm Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 961-3153 (508) 979-1716 Laurie.Alfonso@newbedford.ma-gov
Treasurer’s Office Mark Fuller Assistant Treasurer

133 William Street, Room 104

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1430 (508) 961-3078 Mark.Fuller@newbedford-ma.gov
Emanuel Dias Administrative Coordinator

133 William Street, Room 104

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 979-1430 (508) 961-3078 Emanuel.Dias@newbedford-ma.gov
Veterans Christopher Gomes Director/Veterans’ Agent

181 Hillman Street, Building #3

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6184 (508) 979-1736 cgomes@newbedford-ma.gov
Ana DaRocha Veterans’ Services Investigator

181 Hillman Street, Building #3

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6184 (508) 979-1736 aDaRocha@newbedford-ma.gov
Zoo Shara Crook Assistant Director

425 Hawthorn Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6178 (508) 979-1508 sharac@newbedford-ma.gov
Susan Nunes Office Assistant III

425 Hawthorn Street

New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 991-6178 (508) 979-1508 Susan.Nunes@newbedford-ma.gov